Year: 2022 Source: Ottawa, ON: Author. (2022). 22 p. SIEC No: 20220707
Indigenous peoples, their communities, cultures and languages have existed since time immemorial in the land now known as Canada. The term "Indigenous peoples" refers to three groups—First Nations people, Métis and Inuit—who are recognized in the Constitution Act. However,  while these groups are representative of the Indigenous population as a whole, each is tremendously diverse. This diversity is reflected in over 70 Indigenous languages that were reported during the 2021 Census, over 600 First Nations who represent their people across the country, the  plurality of groups representing Métis nationhood, and the four regions and 50 communities of Inuit Nunangat that Inuit call home.